The school governing body includes parents, community governors, local authority governors, staff and students. Together our role is to help shape the overall direction and character of the school, monitor progress and standards, review and approve the budget, appoint and support the Head and senior staff, review policies and procedures and ensure the school fulfils its statutory duties.

Governance is about overseeing the success of the school. It is about agreeing priorities and monitoring progress towards them. Being an Ysgol Glan Clwyd governor is about providing constructive support and challenge to leaders and managers to enable them to do their job to the best of their ability.

We meet regularly and non-staff governors also visit the school, making contact with the different departments and attending events and performances. We as Governors are always eager to hear the views of members of our community including parents and students.

Our governors are listed below, we currently have vacancies on our Governing Body, if you’re interested in becoming a governor please contact our Clerk on the contact details below.

Mrs Gwenan Prysor (Chair)Community
Mr Iwan Evans (Vice Chair)Local Authority
Mrs Bethan CartwrightHeadteacher
Mrs Heledd JonesParents
Mrs Kathryn JonesParents
Mr Tudor Mars-JonesParents
Mrs Kathryn A JonesParents
Mr Peter RobertsParents
Mrs Delwen PotterParents
Mr D I RobertsCommunity
Mr Dewi OwensCommunity
Mr John RobertsCommunity
Mrs Gwawr CordinerLocal Authority
Ms Eleri LlwydLocal Authority
EmptyLocal Authority
EmptyLocal Authority
Mrs Lara RobertsStaff (Teaching)
Mrs Catherine JonesStaff (Teaching)
Mrs Annwen RobertsStaff (Support)
Lois JonesStudents
Gwen WilliamsStudents

Here are the dates for the schools Governors meetings for this academic year.

Full Governors Meeting

26th September 2017

20th February 2018

3rd July 2018

Committee Meetings (inc Curriculum Committee, Finance and Staffing Committee & Health and Safety Committee)

5th December 2017

13th March 2018

22nd May 2018

Pay Committee Meeting

3rd October 2017

To contact the Governors please email the Clerk, Mrs Rhian Davies at